5 reasons to compost

compost-bannerAs per the third foci of this blog, it’s time for me to start writing about compost. I love compost. I love the smell, touch, economy, colour, consistency, challenge, habitat and concept of compost.

Yes I know it’s a weird but as it turns out that my passion is shared. This week is International Compost Awareness Week. So I hope that if you don’t currently compost, through my Peter Cundallesk passion, you’ll catch the bug.

Here are 5 reasons why I love compost:

1/ I love that I don’t have to buy potting mix. Being a cheapskate, I save at least $5 on those big bags from  Bunnings. Come to think of it – I don’t have to carry the big bags from Bunnings. That’s has to be good for my back doesn’t it?

2/ I love that it all my scraps just seem to disappear. It doesn’t matter how much stuff I put in there, I can still put more in tomorrow. The bin is never full – the beast is always hungry.

3/ I love that I don’t have to go to the take out the garbage as much because there’s less to go in the normal bin.

4/ I love that, like that bit in the matrix where the baby is intravenously fed the remains of dead humans, we are putting back vegetable matter in the soil and it feeds my baby plants. Even our robotic overlords love compost!

5/ I love that my compost bin is forgiving. Where other gardening experiments wither and die, compost bins will always perk up even if neglected (usually I just throw in the garden experiments that wither and die).

So, in this series I’m going to do a book review, tell you about some of the different bins I’m road testing and discuss some common pitfalls that I’ve troubleshot.

1 Comment

Filed under compost

One response to “5 reasons to compost

  1. I can’t wait to get a garden and put these composting tips into action! Theology and compost – what a combination for a blog! I think you’ve hit a niche market! Keep up the good work bro!

Leave a Reply

