Marcus.

It is better to go to a house of mourning than to go to a house of feasting, for death is the destiny of every man; the living should take this to heart. Ecclesiastes 7:2

I had the privilege today of celebrating the life of a man I’m nearly certain I had never met. Marcus Loane went ahead of us April 14 and today hundreds of people packed into St Andrews Cathedral for a memorial service to honour and celebrate his life and the great things Christ did through him.

The service was incredibly encouraging as we heard about his achievements and his legacy, his pastoral heart and his biblical mindset. I was particularly struck as I watched the men I look up to, one after the other, paying tribute to the influence he had in their lives. What a joy Marcus will have when in Glory he sees the ripples of his bit in faithfully passing on the Gospel.

It got me thinking about the great spiritual value of attending services like that. I left more excited about my resurrection than when I had entered. I left less interested in worldly pursuits and more interested in doing the work that with not be in vain.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Marcus.

  1. yeah – it was an encouraging time for the reasons you’ve said.
    glad that i could be part of it.

Leave a Reply

