Choose your own adventure

I know that this doesn’t strictly fit into the Church – College – Compost thing but, meh.

So I’ve had this idea for a date night. Tell me if you think its crap.

The idea is for me to make a nice dinner and then we an go for a walk and (and here’s the part I’m still thinking through) We’ll read a choose your own adventure novel together. It’s a bit dorky I know, but then date nights are kind of meant to be a little bit unusual aren’t they?

I read a lot of choose your own adventure novels as a kid. Its a really interesting genre when you think about it. The thing that makes them so powerful is the seeming involvement the reader has in the outcome of the story. I can choose to turn to page 19 or 68. So this makes the reader feel like they control the story. Where normal novels invite you into the world the author has created as a casual observer, the choose your own adventure franchise claim to take you further as you determine the outcome of the story.

But you don’t really determine the story’s outcome. I don’t write the story, I’m still an observer. Moreover, I don’t know about you, but when I used to read the novels I’d have my fingers all through the book keeping places, just in case I was unhappy with one of my decisions so I could go back and take another path.

If anything, normal novels give you more freedom as you imagine the possibilities of paths untaken don’t they?

Anyhow, enough bagging of the genre. I’m going to give it a go and I’ll let you know how it went.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Choose your own adventure

  1. I’ve always hated choose your own adventure novels. Don’t know why exactly. Think it’s because i like stories to mean something (i’m pre-post-modern i know), and when you’re choosing the outcome it’s pretty difficult to get any meaning more than: ‘you killed the monster and saved the world’ or ‘you died’.

    Anyway, that’s my winge.

    Nick

    • steveboxwell

      Interesting. I think post-moderns like their stories to mean something, they just don’t want to acknowledge that the composer of a text has any say in what it means. 🙂

      I agree with you though about the lack of meaning. We’ll see how the date goes.

Leave a Reply

