This lecture is making me thirsty!

I’m not usually one for unusual “twist-of-fate” stories, though I’m all for freakish coincidences.

Yesterday I was in New Testament 2, in which we are looking at John’s Gospel this term. In passing the Colonel mentioned the living water narrative and the stuff about the well of Jacob. At that very moment I was overcome with thirst. I don’t usually get thirsty, as I’m pretty well always carrying around my huge mug of tea. As it turned out I was without tea so I groped around my bag for a water bottle.

It got so bad that after I found the bottle and drank the whole thing, I had to leave the lecture, fill the bottle, drink it and fill the bottle again.

I’m writing this story now mentally calculating how many cups of tea and coffee I’ve had since that class (I think over 10.) This just goes to prove Jesus’ salient point:

Jesus said, “Everyone who drinks from this water [ie regular water] will get thirsty again. But whoever drinks from the water that I will give him will never get thirsty again—ever! In fact, the water I will give him will become a well of water springing up within him for eternal life.” (John 5:13-14)

1 Comment

Filed under College

One response to “This lecture is making me thirsty!

  1. Firstly, I think that photo of the Colonel is tops.
    Secondly, reading this post made me thirsty! Luckily, I was prepared with a water bottle next to me.

Leave a Reply

