A win against Unilever

Another small victory I thought I’d share. I recently wrote the the Lord Mayor of Sydney, Clover Moore about a Lynx promotion staged at Martin Place. I won’t go into the details of the Lynx promotion, but suffice to say that if I worked in an office on Martin Place, went down to the street, took a photo of what was happening and then set that photo as my computer wall paper, I would be in serious danger of a sexual harassment case. We don’t put up with the sexualisation of women in the workplace so why should we put up with it on the walkway?

So here’s the email I sent (it took me 5 minutes) and below is a link to her office’s response.

Hi Clover

My name is Steve Boxwell, I’m a student living in Newtown.

I’m writing to you about the recent Lynx “pop up spa” campaign staged in Martin Place. I’m growing increasingly concerned that women are being objectified in our society. If you didn’t catch the recent opinion piece about this on the ABC you can find it here.

I’d like to know what you as Lord Mayor of Sydney plan to do to curb this kind of blatant sexualisation of women for advertising.

I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Steve Boxwell
9 Little Queen St Newtown.

Her office’s response is here.

– the good news is that Sydney Council is going probably going to be a bit more vigilant in how it allows companies to use public space.

– the bad news is that the action taken was to write to the Australian Association of National Advertisers. These guys are the Advertising industry’s self-regulation unit. The trouble with self-regulation is that it’s akin to asking a puppy not to eat the cupcake on the plate in front of them and then walking out of the room – it’s unlikely to work.

So, consider writing to the Australian Association of National Advertisers here to ask them to extend the guidelines to cover outdoor promotions.

2 Comments

Filed under Politics

2 responses to “A win against Unilever

  1. Pingback: World Spinner

Leave a Reply

